Catholic Theological Union is screwing with me.

Every day when the mail arrives, I throw up a little. Not really. That’s kind of gross. But I want to, internets, and that’s the important part. Because while I’m 99% sure that of course there won’t be anything from any school I’ve applied to, there could be! And dude, I don’t see a big envelope. Which means it must be a small envelope. Which is bad news. Oh, God, please don’t let me see the Marquette return address on a small envelope.

(My head. It is a scary place sometimes.)

However, I can be certain that I will have received something from Catholic Theological Union. They were on my original list of schools. About a year ago. When I was…I don’t know, high or something, and I thought hey! Two master’s programs! At two different schools! One in a different city! I can totally do and afford this!

Ha. Hahaha. Yeah. No.

ANYWAY. I didn’t apply at CTU, mostly because of the fact that the packet they sent me was like 90 pages long and I didn’t have a week to devote to tracking down everyone who had ever seen me help a child and make them write a letter or recommendation . Also, the whole hey, why don’t you apply for a program you’re actually qualified for, moron? thing.

They haven’t gotten the hint. I still get postcards. And folders. And scholarship applications. And letters offering all sorts of assistance because they haven’t received my application yet!

I know! And it’s January! You’d think you guys would catch on already!

So. To recap. Pieces of mail I’ve received from schools I’ve actually applied to: 0. Pieces of mail I’ve received from CTU: 583,049. As of yesterday.

I’m beginning to regret not applying, to be perfectly honest; because I think they’d at least be better at the whole contact thing. I don’t think they’d consign me to the horrors of Northwestern’s application page staring blankly out at me every morning. At least I would get a frickin’ postcard or something, even if it just said, “Hi! We’re still thinking about whether or not we should crush your dreams! Stay tuned!”

One thought on “Catholic Theological Union is screwing with me.

Leave a Reply

