Thankful

I’ve had a lot of bad Thanksgivings. I’ve had more really awesome ones, don’t get me wrong; but a lot of real stinkers.

But this? This has been a pretty good year and it was a really good Thanksgiving.  Last year I was a mess. I didn’t know what was going to happen; I had no idea where I’d be today. I certainly had no idea I’d be happily in grad school, teaching a class I absolutely love and am genuinely sad will be over in a few weeks, and really quite happy with the state of my life.

Today I was content with all of that, but I also got the spend the morning shopping with my mom. Most of those crappy Thanksgivings? I didn’t think I’d ever get to go shopping with her again.

So this morning I went upstairs to say bye before I left for Wal-Mart at 4:30.(Yeah. I was that girl.) She said to have fun, but she really didn’t think she was up to going with me that early. (Understandable. If I wasn’t being lured by reasonably-priced electronics, I wouldn’t have gone either.)

I hadn’t reached the bottom of the stairs before she was screaming “No! Wait! I’m coming with you! Give me ten minutes!’

When she got downstairs she said,”Well, if I’m not going to force myself to do things with you,  I may as well be dead.”

Ookay. On that happy note, let’s go shopping!

Turns out my reasonably priced electronic was sold out. But there was another! even better! even more reasonably priced! electronic to be had at another store. That she talked me into buying. Because that’s really why I need to go shopping with my mom. I wander around and talk myself out of things and think they make me look fat and generally leave feeling horrible about the entire world and everyone in it and with my mom? I leave with televisions and cute boots that I didn’t think I could pull off.

Of course, once we purchased that reasonably priced electronic it all went downhill.

Kohl’s was just the embarrassing site of yet another one of my internal debates.

Boots! I need boots!

No, you really do not.

Yes! I really do! They were $80! And now they’re…not!

You have more boots than we have space for.

Tunic sweater!

You already own that.

In white! Not this color!

Are you kidding me?

Scarf!

Oh my God.

Needless to say, all those things were brought home in lovely little bags. And I ended up sitting on my bed wrapped in a tunic sweater that I now own in two colors, wearing adorable boots, and staring in wonder at the blades of grass behind Booth and Brennan on TV. REGULAR SIZED BOOTH AND BRENNAN. NOT TALL AND SKINNY BECAUSE THE ASPECT RATIO GOT SCREWED UP BOOTH AND BRENNAN.

But most of all, I got to go shopping with my mommy.

(And the blades of grass. Those blades of grass are pretty cool.)

Leave a Reply

