Decade

Today, I was going to write about my recent infatuation with Bare Minerals makeup. Which, in my life, is pretty damn important. I mean, it’s makeup. Aside from my hair, my skin is pretty much the most important thing in my life.

Except, you know, graduate school.

But then I realized that it was the end of the decade. The REAL end of the decade. Everyone freaked out at the end of last year and was all, “zomg first decade of the third millennium…” but they were wrong.

And I KNOW that they were wrong, because if there’s thing I remember from the last decade, it was my grandfather being very annoyed that everyone was screwing up the whole 1999/2000 thing. I mean, really, people. Duh.

I’m really glad it’s the end of the decade tonight instead of last year. If you read my post from last year, I was kind of in a bad place, even if I refused to admit it to anyone, even myself. I was so terrified of what was going to happen regarding grad school; I was a mess.

Guess what? Northwestern rejected me. The world kept turning. I still got in somewhere else. I have a fantastic job at a fantastic school and I’m ridiculously happy. I still have no idea what’s going to happen in the end, but I’m definitely better than last year.  2010 was a pretty good year.

That’s the most surprising thing of all, I think. 2008 was horrid. 2009 was pretty bad. I think I was so scarred by those two years that I didn’t even realize until, well, tonight that 2010? Was actually pretty good.

I graduated from college. I went to Williamsburg with my family. I bought a car. I started graduate school. I started teaching. I did really well in graduate school. I laughed, cried, loved, *insert appropriate verb here*…blah blah blah.

Not bad, 2010. I mean, I did it without my Grandpa. That kind of sucked. But I kind of feel like he’s still here because I remember that tonight is the actual end of the decade. And, you know, his doctor showed up at my award’s ceremony. But other than that, not bad.

So here’s to 2011. Hopefully it will be so good I’ll actually pay attention.

 

Leave a Reply

