The Scarlet Letter

Dear Governor Walker,

Hey. It’s Kathleen. You probably don’t remember me, but I voted for you. And I put pictures of myself with newspapers celebrating your election on Facebook. And I think you’re kind of cute when I’m drunk.

(But only when I’m drunk.)

ANYWAY. I was totally in your corner. For serious. And I still am! Don’t get me wrong! I still feel that, in general, less government is a good thing and blah blah blah.

But here’s the thing. I work for a state university. And…you honestly couldn’t have held off on calling the frickin’ National Guard until you’d been in office longer and six weeks?

Again, I do understand (if not necessarily totally agree with) the point of your collective bargaining position. But your response to unions should not be “You guys are armed, right?”

I mean, this isn’t 1836 in Manchester.

Because now not only do I have to deal with having voted for you (which I’m not really ashamed about despite the fact that I’m pretty sure I’ll get stoned tomorrow) and feeling like I have to wear a big red R stitched to my chest for “Republican”, but I have to walk through a three hour protest in the middle of the plaza tomorrow.

So. Thanks for that.

Although I have had some wine tonight. So I’m feeling a little bit more in your favor.

Love,

Kathleen

Leave a Reply

