Things I Failed to Consider Before Potty Training

1.) How exhausting it is to have to run to the bathroom every six seconds.

2.) How exhausting it is to have to be excited to run to the bathroom every six seconds. 

3.) How much laundry I’d be doing.

4.) How many jelly beans we’d go through.

5.) How many white lies (“You know what? They stopped making diapers in your size for during the day! I know, right? Crazy!”) I’d be telling.

6.) How difficult it would be to fit my own multiple-times-an-hour-thank-you-Baby-K bathroom runs in between all the brand! new! exciting! usually non-productive! ones. 

7.) How difficult it would be to stand in the bathroom for what feels like hours at a time while we think about whether we have to go tinkle before we get in the car. 

8.) How difficult it would be to sit on the floor in the bathroom for what feels like hours at time while we think about whether we have to go tinkle before we get in the car. 

9.) How unbelievably proud I am of her every time she gets it. For serious. She could topple terrorist organizations or cure diseases and I’m not sure I’d be more proud than I am every time she empties her bladder into an appropriate receptacle. 

10.) How unbelievably blessed I am that I get to be here and do it with and for her. 

 

Leave a Reply

