Guinness Beef Stew

Dudes. I don’t know if I’ve talked to you about my love for the crock-pot. But I definitely still love it.

(Fetus Buddy didn’t like it so much. And by “didn’t like it” I mean whenever I would get close to plugging it in he made me run to the bathroom and projectile vomit everything I had eaten or thought about eating for the last few weeks. So I had to stop for about a year.)

(But now! Haha, we’re back in business crock-pot.)

Last night, I made Guinness beef stew. It’s a combination of this recipe and the beef stew recipe in my favorite book ever except maybe Hanskjakob Stehle’s Eastern Politics of the Vatican, Eat What You Love Everyday.

(Which you really should just buy because it’s amazing. And has the recipe for my also amazing green onion and sour cream biscuits.)

Plus a few of my own additions, like waaaay more booze, because, as we previously established, NOT PREGNANT ANYMORE.

1- 1 1/2 lbs lean beef stew meat

3 diced carrots

3 stalks celery, diced

1 lb potatoes, diced

1 large onion, chopped

1 14 oz can beef broth

1/2 cup wine

3 T tomato paste

1 1/2 t Worcestershire Sauce

1 t thyme leaves, ground

1 t savory seasoning (I used Penzeys’ Fox Point seasoning)

1 clove garlic, minced

dash salt

12 oz bottle Guinness Draught (not extra stout)

3 T Wondra (or other instant flour)

Chop all the veggies, and place in a 4-6 qt crock pot. Place meat on top of veggies.

Combine next eight ingredients (broth through salt) in a bowl, and whisk until smooth. Pour into crock pot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My favorite part- the Guinness. True fact: I don’t even like Guinness that much, but I will put it in anything. Like for reals. Because tell me what doesn’t taste amazing after being simmered in Guinness for eight hours?

Nothing. That’s what.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours.

My favorite part about this recipe (except the alcohol) is that all of the work can be done at 6:45 in the morning, which is the last time I can be productive. Because once Squeaks and Buddy are up it is every man for himself. We’re in survival mode. There is no slow-cooking in survival mode.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Remove cover and stir in flour, simmer for 10 minutes until thickened. Perfect alone, but pairs well with biscuits or any bread really.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

(Not pictured: The husband who is angry that the sun is shining in his eyes so I could get a good picture.)

Leave a Reply

