DC

Morning, y’all. I’m back. Last week was…unpleasant. Very very unpleasant. Like, my mommy had to convince me at several points that I only had a stomach bug and was not, in fact, dying. Because I’m dramatic like that.

ANYWAY. Before all that happened, we went to Door County for the day with my parents. We spend most of the time driving there and stopping at various stores, so most of the pictures don’t involve anything actually in Door County, but I digress.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Buddy is super excited for the day trip. His look says, “Please take me back to my crib, crazy woman.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Squeaks is legitimately excited because she gets to eat donuts in the car, which does not happen every day because while I’m nowhere near as good and wholesome a mother as my Pinterest boards suggest, I have some standards.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Buzz is also excited because for all his whining about how when his family goes to Door County they actually, you know, like go to Door County, he gets Twinkies.

My family took a lot of road trips when I was little. We’d follow my dad around on business trips throughout the state, and we went to Galena every year. I have such good memories of being in the car with everybody, and it makes me so happy that my kids are getting to experience that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course, it’s way more fun if we can all be in one car, not caravan-ing it, because my sister is hilarious when she’s a.) drunk, b.) tired, c.) in enclosed spaces. But with Buddy’s arrival we can’t all fit in the Astro. Sad face.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t know why he married me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We always stop at this random gas station and get muffins about halfway through. Last time we went, Buddy was three months old and I gave him a bottle here. So there are lots of pictures of me bouncing him around trying to get him to eat, which he did not enjoy doing, and looking for the Prozac bottle.

This time, he’s 10 months, eating solid food at restaurants when we stop (such a convenient, easy-going baby) and falling asleep on his own. I like 10 months. A lot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also muffins.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The first actual stop in Door County is the Door County Coffee store. Where I stock up on highlander grogg, pumpkin spice (in season), and take pictures of my daughter dancing in the mirror.

(Seriously. This place is so good.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had a wonderful lunch, and I apparently stopped taking pictures after it. Buzz enjoyed a beer sampler, of course.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, except for a few selfies. Obviously.

We took a huge, long road trip out east in 2010. We were all adults; it was the summer between college and grad school for me, and I think the five of us knew we were pretty much on borrowed time. Within a few months of getting home, my sister and I would meet our husbands, and things changed. I was worried that the way I traveled with my “growing-up family” wouldn’t work anymore.

But even though it’s changed with the addition of children and husbands and craziness, I am so, so pleased to report that it’s just as wonderful as it always was.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

