Recipe Wednesday: Not-Starbucks Lemon Loaf Cake

I love lemon. On or in pretty much anything. (Lemon curd? Have I talked to you about lemon curd? I become very proselytizing when I talk about lemon curd. Have you heard about the good news lemon curd on pancakes?)

I still request boxed lemon cake for my birthday. (Yes, I am an adult and married and have children. My daddy still makes me a birthday cake.)

Of course I love Starbucks lemon loaf cake, and this recipe is very close to it. Except without the annoying little card in front telling you the thing you ordered is 470 calories. You know that card? I hate that card. I know that lemon cake isn’t healthy. You don’t have to tell me exactly how unhealthy it is. Geez. Thanks, Obama.

ANYWAY. I make this whenever I have to take treats to something, because it seems super impressive and really isn’t that hard.

(Unless you do it at 8 pm on Memorial Day while trying to get two overtired children to bed four days of constant activity. Then it is hard. And you will swear you will never sign up to bring anything to anywhere EVER AGAIN. *ahem*)

Drenched Lemon Loaf Cake 

(Adapted from this post. Without all the pretty winery pictures. I don’t do anything that exciting. )

Cake:

1 1/2 cups flour

2 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 cup sour cream

1 cup sugar

3 eggs

2 t lemon extract

1/2 t vanilla extract

1/2 cup vegetable oil

Syrup:

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup lemon juice

Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar

2 tablespoons lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a loaf pan (one of the small ones that I’m sure has official size that I don’t know works well- you want the bread to be thick.).

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. I use a whisk to avoid all that tiresome “sifting” business.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In a large bowl, combine sour cream, sugar, eggs, lemon extract, and vanilla extract.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add the dry ingredients to the sour cream mixture. You’re supposed to do this slowly. I usually don’t.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Use a rubber spatula to fold the vegetable oil into the mixture. Which gives you the most awesome-looking unhealthy oily cake mix ever.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pour into loaf pan and bake for 60-70 minutes, depending on your oven. Like I said, I use the smaller loaf pans so it’s taller, and it takes a little bit longer to bake.

While the cake is baking, whisk the syrup ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir until the syrup thickens and clears.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While the cake is still warm, place on a baking rack with something underneath it (otherwise it will be very messy. Something I learned the hard way.) Poke holes in the cake with a meat thermometer or other slightly thick pointy thing. Pour syrup over the cake and allow to cool completely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When cake has cooled, mix glaze ingredients together and pour over the cake. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And devour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

