Recipe Wednesday: Crock Pot Applesauce

Okay, confession time. I stole this from my sister after I went to her house and it smelled SO FALLY AND DIVINE AND GIVE ME THE RECIPE OR I’M JUST MOVING IN HERE.

She didn’t want me and husband and children moving into her house (Although she’d probably take my children. As they are adorable.), so she gave me the recipe. And it’s ridiculously simple and non-chemically and doesn’t have tons of added sugar so I can convince myself that it’s totally healthy.

(Of course, both my children refuse to eat it. Eva sniffs and goes, “No. Not your applesauce. REAL applesauce.” Obviously unclear on what REAL means. Joey broke out in weird hives on his face- I think he had contact dermatitis from the cinnamon. Whatever. More for me.)

Crock Pot Applesauce

12 apples (any kind, although sweeter is better)

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup water

~1 T vanilla (I don’t know, I just pour)

1 T cinnamon

Core, slice, and peel the apples. Place in the crock pot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add the rest of the ingredients. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Do not try to rush this. If you set it on high, it won’t be nearly as good. You can leave it overnight and it turns out wonderfully except every time you get up to go to the bathroom you get super hungry.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

When apples are cooked, mash them together with a ricer or a fork.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Perfect served cold for anything, or (my favorite) hot over vanilla ice cream. Kind of like apple crisp that doesn’t make you want to kill yourself because OMG I ATE SOOO MUCH.

Leave a Reply

