Recipe Wednesday: Chicken Divan

So apparently this a fabled “newlywed” or “in-law” dish back from when people a.) got married, b.) were expected to have separate households before that and c.) entertained or cooked food with gluten. Yeah, I don’t know. I mean, I got married pretty young to someone I didn’t live with and God knows I love me some gluten, but I also order pizza for the majority of my dinner parties.

Because Dominoes is easy and our family is about 10,000 people.

Anyway.

A friend dropped this off when we moved, which was adorable and awesome and IT WAS SOOO GOOD. Like, by the second day I was just eating it out of the casserole dish with a spoon. No time for plates. There is cheesy chicken goodness to be had.

This is my own recipe for it. And I have actually made it for my in-laws, so I guess it’s legit. 

Chicken Divan

2 packages frozen chopped broccoli

6-8 chicken breasts, baked and shredded

2 cans cream of chicken soup 

1 cup mayonnaise

1 cup sour cream

1 cup grated cheddar cheese

1/2 cup white wine (riesling or chardonnay is particularly good with the dinner itself, as long as you’re opening a bottle)

1 T lemon juice

1 t curry powder

Salt and pepper

1 cup shredded Parmesan

2 cups soft breadcrumbs

1/2 cup butter, melted

Dash of garlic salt

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(You can see I only use the finest of ingredients, like the bottom bottom shelf Pick and Save stuff and Target boxed wine.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 

Microwave the broccoli according to package directions. Place in bottom of a 9×13 casserole dish. Place shredded chicken breast on top of it. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mix together mayo, sour cream, cheese, lemon juice, wine, curry powder, and salt and pepper. Pour over the broccoli and chicken- do not mix. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In another bowl, mix together soft breadcrumbs (I usually just use a food processor for about half a loaf of Italian bread and then serve the rest with dinner) with Parmesan and garlic salt (I happen to believe there is nothing that cannot be improved with garlic salt. Seriously. I’d put it in my toothpaste if it wouldn’t defeat the purpose.) Spread the breadcrumbs into the casserole dish. 

Bake for 30-45 minutes until brown and bubbly. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serve with white wine, a salad, and crusty bread. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(And your in-laws will be impressed. I promise.)

(Your four-year-old will not be. “There’s broccoli in it?!?!?! BUT IT TOUCHED EVERYTHING!!!”)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

