Recipe Weekends: Apple Rose Tarts

It’s my niece Poppyseed’s first birthday this weekend, and because my sister is like the best mother ever she’s doing a theme of all of Poppyseed’s favorite foods. But, like, real versions of them. So she likes ham, so we’re having ham and cheese baked sandwiches. And she likes oatmeal, so we’re having oatmeal cookies.

I know. It’s annoying how perfect my sister is.

Just for reference, Buddy’s first birthday was a week before we moved, and I made all the guests carry boxes out to my car when they were ready to leave. Not one of  my finest hostessing moments, but meh. I needed stuff done, y’all. There was no adorable food table.

One of Poppyseed’s favorite foods is applesauce. (Which my sister makes herself. Of course.) So I’m bringing Apple Rose Tarts for the “apple” part of the table.

I found this recipe on Pinterest a few months ago, and bookmarked it because it seemed so perfect for Poppyseed. It ended up being super easy too, and they are so good.

Ingredients:

  • 6 apples
  • Lemon juice
  • Water
  • 6 sheets puff pastry
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • ~1 cup sugar
  • Cinnamon

Cut the apples in half, take the core out, and slice thinly. Put them in a microwave bowl.

They’ll look like this:

image

Spray liberally with lemon juice, and put some water in the bowl. Microwave for 5-6 minutes, until the apples are soft and pliable.

image

Cut each puff pastry sheet into four equal pieces. Spread with cream cheese, and sprinkle with sugar.

Lay apples along the edge of each piece, overlapping slightly. Sprinkle with cinnamon.

image

Fold the other end over the apples, so only the top half are visable.

image

Starting on the edge, roll up the piece of pastry, forming a little apple rose. Place in a muffin tin and bake at 375 degrees for 40 minutes, until brown and the pastry is cooked.

image

Honestly, guys, this was super easy. The worst part was waiting for the apple slices to cool long enough so I could handle them without burning.

Which I think we can all go right ahead and figure that I did not do.

Patience. It is a virtue. I don’t have it.

image

They turned out super well, you guys! Baked for exactly 40 minutes and look so perfect. I can’t wait for tomorrow!

image

 

Leave a Reply

