My Daily Schedule, According to My Six-Year-Old. And also my thoughts on mercy. 

As told to her grandmother, who is probably calling social services as we speak. 

“Well. First she lets us cuddle in bed with her while she sleeps in the morning. Sometimes she snores a LOT. Then we get up and stay in our pajamas and we eat breakfast and watch TV.

Then we go to Grandma Susan’s and play. Mommy sits on the couch with her coffee and reads.

During the afternoon, Mommy naps EVERY DAY ALL AFTERNOON and I just lay next to her and play on my tablet.

Then Mommy makes dinner and she has wine and after we go to bed she and Daddy watch grownup shows and have more wine. Sometimes they read books together too. ”

*blink* *blink*

Um…

Meals? Grocery shopping? Running our household? Laundry? Other chores? FREAKING HOMESCHOOLING? NOT BEING AN ALCOHOLIC WITH A THYROID DISORDER???

Any of that, sweet pea???

Nope. Just a lot of napping and reading and coffee and wine. And the occasional TV show.

Just for comparison’s sake, here’s what she thinks Daddy’s schedule is like:

“Daddy gets up REALLY early, and he goes to work and he works and he works and he works ALL DAY to take care of us. When he gets home, he plays with us ALL night and even helps Mommy make dinner and then he gives us tubbies and puts us to bed. And then he sits down with Mommy.”

Where is Mommy during the tubbies and bedtime? Presumably sitting with my wine and book.

You know what my actual schedule looks like?

“Mommy gets up with Daddy at some ungodly hour and TAKES CARE OF UNGRATEFUL PEOPLE ALL DAY LONG GAAAHHHHHH.”

And yeah, sometimes there is wine. And coffee. And sometimes I even have five minutes to myself when you’re working on the school work that I’ve spent the last WHOLE SUMMER preparing. And then I do read like half a page of a book. I know. SELFISH.

But no. My kid thinks we have magical elves who also do elementary education.

~~~

So. I wrote this yesterday in a lull, like I usually do. I was just going to publish it.

But we had a really hard night. We needed to be up with one kid and deal with a lot of stuff and then the other woke up and this all happened at 3:00 so we got like a lovely hour and a half nap before leaving for work/starting the day. And frankly it seemed fitting with the post I had written.

But then I thought of our engaged enrichment day. I know, right? Stay with me. One of the speakers mentioned the exact situation we were in last night just totally in passing, and how honored he felt to be there for his daughter like that becuase while helping her through the night he was able to do something for her that no one else ever could.

As parents, we are so blessed that we are able to be required to take care of our children. They come to us for everything. They don’t understand that they should be grateful that we literally sacrifice ourselves for them, because they’re little and we’re their parents and that’s how it should be.

I was at a meeting last night and we were discussing the spiritual and corporal works of mercy, and how parents in particular can experience those while parenting literally ALMOST CONSTANTLY and not even notice it becuse most of what we do is SUPER ANNOYING.

But it is filled with grace. It allows us to build a domestic church, and sanctify our homes in a way that no one else has a chance to do. And that’s amazing.

We are so lucky to get to experience mercy and sanctification like that.

image.jpeg

Leave a Reply

