Recipe Weekends: Lemon Cheesecake Bars

Oh man, guys. I totally planned on making dinner and other random crap this week and taking pictures and doing like a real recipe or whatever and then I didn’t really do that because it was hot and then it was cold and so I didn’t feel like doing anything and then I felt like doing all the things except cooking and…anyway.

So here’s something I was planning on posting later, but already had pictures of on my phone.

Last Friday I was heading to a picnic and turned to my go-to dessert that looks super impressive and isn’t. (That’s my main criteria for all the things- I want to look impressive. But I also really like sleeping when the baby sleeps.

(The baby? Is three.)

(Still counts.)

Now, full disclosure. This particular time did not exactly turn out the way they have every single time I’ve made them. They were still good but not the finger food, picnic accessible way they usually are. I know what happened, so I’ll make sure it make note of it in the recipe.

Lemon Cheesecake Bars

Crust:

3/4 cup cold butter, cut into chunks.

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup powdered sugar

Lemon Filling:

4 eggs

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 T flour

1 T lemon zest

1/2 cup lemon juice

Cheesecake Filling:

16 oz cream cheese

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

Sour Cream Layer:

16 oz sour cream

1 cup sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. If you’re planning on serving them as bars, line the pan with parchment paper. If you want to serve it in the pan, just spray with cooking spray.

In a bowl, mix together dry crust ingredients, and cut in cold butter. When it’s the consistancy of crumbs, press into the bottom of the pan. Bake for 20-30 minutes, until light brown.

image

This is where I screwed up. I was rushing to leave the house and took it out too soon. I figured it would be okay since you bake the rest of it. Well, turns out if you rush that part, then the lemon filling soaks into the crust and you get a mess. A tasty mess, but a mess.

image

See that? That should be darker.

Mix together all of the lemon filling ingredients. Pour into the pan on top of the baked crust, and skim off any bubbles.

image

Finally, mix together cream cheese and sugar for the cheesecake. When it’s creamy, add in the eggs and beat until smooth.

image

Smooth over the lemon filling. This is such a weird chemistry thing, but it does separate perfectly during baking.

image

Bake for 45-60 minutes, until filling is set and beginning to crack.

image

Mix together sour cream topping and spread over the top. Return to oven and bake for 10-15 more minutes until the topping is set.

Let cool completely before cutting and serving.

image

 

Leave a Reply

