Holiday Makeup Looks, Part 1: Easy Glam!

Look One: Easy, Everyday Holiday Look

(Chapel veil not required. The light outside Church was just the best for getting pictures of my eyeshadow.)

(I’m a mom okay? I work with what I have. There’s no fancy youtube studio here. Just a bunch of people needing crap from me.)

This is a pretty, sparkly every day look that you can wear basically anywhere. Church (obvs), shopping, even parties with friends.

To get this look, I used the following products:

img_6251

Some drugstore, some high end, but really any incarnations of these will work fine.

Begin with a clean, moisturized face.

  • I prepped my face with Laura Geller Spackle, applied with a beauty blender. I’ve been really into that method lately because it smooths out my pores, and stops foundation from getting sucked into the sponge.
  • I used a medium coverage long wear foundation, in this case, Rimmel  Lasting Finish 25 hour, applied all over with a beauty blender. I definitely wanted to look finished, but wasn’t overly concerned with having a full full coverage, so I didn’t build it up too much
  • Concealer under the eyes and on highlight points (Tarte Shape Tape works amazingly well.)
  • Use setting powder where needed (I use it on my nose, undereyes, and forehead to lock in the foundation over my infuriating wrinkle.)
  • Use a cool bronze shade in a contour palette to add dimension to the cheekbones, forehead, and chin. I was NOT going for a full-on contour here, and I didn’t even set it with powder or anything. Just enough to make my face look less like a dough ball.
  • Sweep Urban Decay Fetish (or any nude rose blush) across your cheekbones and blend it well.
  • Use a warm champagne color highlighter on the high points of the face.
  • Lips are done with a dusty rose lipliner (Mary Kay), a cool pink (Rimmel Kate 104) and a light neutral pink gloss (L’Oreal Brilliant Gloss 101.)

For the eyes, I used a combination of palettes and singles.

  • Prep the lid with an eyelid primer (I used Ulta’s primer here.) I swept a neutral white color across my entire lid to the browbone (Kat von D Luteus, but any would work.)
  • I used a matte transition shade in light taupe (also from Kat von D) in my crease, and blended it out to almost nothing, just a shadow.
  • Using a wet shadow brush, pat Urban Decay Moondust (or a champagne color) all over the lid, into the inner corner.
  • Using a different, dry brush, sweet a dark brown shade in the outer v and into the crease a LITTLE bit. In this case, I used the Laura Geller in Chocolate.
  • Highlight the browbone with a light shade, like Laura Geller almond.
  • Tightline with a brown shade (I used Smashbox always sharp in Sumatra.)
  • Curl lashes and layer two coats of TooFaced Better than Sex Mascara. This is my favorite mascara for not wearing falsies. It’s really dramatic, but not clumpy.
  • Finally, because I’m the one person who likes to do my brows last so they don’t get ruined with powder, I shaped and set my brows with Maybelline Eye Studio Brow Precise in Soft Brown. I LOVE this eyebrow pencil. It has a super small pencil and such natural results.

A spritz or two of setting spray (pretty sure I used NYX Matte here, but I didn’t take a pic) and you’re good to go all day!

Look Two: Pretty and Pink

This is also a fairly tame look, but dewy and based in the pink/plum color family.

(Also sorry I didn’t comb my hair before doing the pictures.) (Again, mother.)

I used these products to achieve this look:

img_6282

For the face, again, clean and moisturized to start.

  • Prime face with any moisturizing or luminizing primer. I used Smashbox light.
  • Apply a light, luminous foundation over the entire face. I used Tarte’s Rainforest of the Sea Water Foundation, which is relatively new but I am in love with. It’s medium-full coverage, but it looks like skin on me. Very nice finish.
  • Apply concealer to highlight areas.
  • Before applying powder, use a beauty blender to apply an illuminating blush product. I love Nars Illuminator in Orgasm.
  • Set all the liquid makeup with translucent powder.
  • With a fluffy brush, finish with a brightening powder (in this case, BareMinerals luminizing face powder.)
  • Since I was more concerned with the soft look, I didn’t contour at all. I did sweep a brightening bronzer over my forehead and under my cheekbones for a little dimesion.
  • Sweep a soft pink blush on to the apples of the cheeks. I used Maybelline’s Fit Me in Rose first, but the color payoff wasn’t great. So I layered Smashbox in the lightest shade shown (I don’t remember the name,) and blended well.
  • Using a stipple brush, sweep liquid highlighter over the cheekbones and highlight areas. This is BECCA Cosmetics Liquid Shimmering Skin Perfecter in Opal.
  • Lips were lined with a netural liner (Mary Kay again) and a bright pink gloss (toned down by the neutral liner.)
  • Spray lightly with Mac Fix+ Spray to meld makeup and give it a totally natural finish

For eyes, I went with a rosey look using Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette.

img_6286

  • I primed with Smashbox eyeshadow primer, and swept tempura all over my lid.
  • I used Buon Fresco as a crease/transition shade, and blended well.
  • Taking a fluffy brush, I swept a little bit of Venetian Red into my outer lid and into the v. I deepened it with a tiny bit of love letter on a densely packed brush, and blended the ish out of it.
  • I used Vermeer on the inner corner of my eye and brow bone.
  • Finally, I took a little bit of antique bronze on a fluffy brush and blended the pinks together to tone them down a little.
  • I used a nude liner on my waterline, and smudged a combination of Venetian Red and Antique Bronze under my lower lash line.
  • Curled lashes (no falsies) and used two coats of Tarte’s Lights Camera Lashes mascara on the upper and lower lashes.
  • Brows were done lightly (I wasn’t interested in being dramatic) with the Chella Eyebrow pencil in Taupe.

Abandoning Recipe weekends tomorrow in favor of more holiday looks. This time, more dramatic! Stay tuned!

 

 

Leave a Reply

