Holiday Makeup Looks, Part 2: Glitz and Glam

Look 1: Glitzy Party Look

img_6372

img_6375

This is a more…um…intense look than yesterday. Falsies, highlighter, red lip, basically every other product I own, etc. But if you have forty-five minutes and a tablet with you to watch TV while  you chillax on your own in blessed silence and YES MATT I HEARD YOU I AM ALMOST FINISHED…*ahem* Sorry. That might have happened last night.

Whatever. I like to be fashionably late.

I used the following products to create this look:

img_6409

For the face, begin with clean and moisturized skin.

  • Apply a mattifying primer (like TooFaced Primed and Poreless) with a beauty blender.
  • Combine L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte and Pro-Glow foundations for a satin finish, and apply with beauty blender. Build coverage to create a full coverage foundation.
  • use a heavy-duty concealer (like Tarte Shape Tape) under eyes and in highlight areas.
  • Set concealer with translucent loose powder. While that bakes, do rest of the face with a pressed powder (TooFaced Pressed and Poreless Powder.)
  • Contour under cheekbones, forehead, sides of nose, and under the chin. This is a look that calls for a FULL contour. (I used Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour palette in Light/Medium.
  • Sweep a deep pink blush across the cheeks and blend with a fluffy brush into your contour.
  • Finally, apply highlighter with across high points of face. Again, this is not a look to be demure. Go for BRIGHT highlighter. I used BECCA Cosmetics Powder highlighter in Moonstone.
  • Spritz twice with Mac Fix+ spray.
  • For the lips, line with a neutral pencil. Fill lips with red lipstick (I used Nars in some red color) and then layer on a red gloss (ELF ruby)

For the eyes:

img_6286img_5586

  • Prime with Milani Eyeshadow primer. Allow to dry.
  • I’m using two palettes here- MetalMatte by Kat von D and Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance. I basically stole this look from ThisGirlShae.
  • From ABH, I applied Tempura over my entire lid and swept Buon Fresco into my crease.
  • Also from ABH, I put venetian Red on the outer third, and layered Love Letter in the outer corner.
  • Switching to KVD, I used a wet brush to pack on Glitz over the inner two-thirds of the eyelid. I kept blending and packing it on until I was satisfied with the amount of glitter (A LOT.)
  • Using a dry brush, I packed Tinsel on the middle of my lid lightly, just to highlight.
  • Back to ABH, I used Antique Bronze to blend out the red shades, but kept layering with Love letter. I wanted to keep the red look on the outer corner.
  • I highlighted my brow bone with Vermeer.
  • Going for drama, so I applied some lashes. I love Ardell Demi Wispies in Black because they’re dramatic but don’t look overly fake.
  • After applying the lashed I used Eyeko Black liquid liner to make sure the band wasn’t going anywhere.
  • Using a waterproof liner, I tightlined my waterline on the upper and bottom lashes.
  • Finally, I swept a coat of Ulta Twisted Mascara on my lashes (well, also the fake ones.)

 

Look 2: Green Smokey Eye

img_6403

img_6404

I love the MetalMatte palette because of the gorgeous colors that you can sheer out. So I was able to create a smokey eye with black and gray, but add a pop of green too. Here’s what I used:

img_6414

For the face: Basically kept it simple- the eyes were the focus of this look.

  • Apply Smashbox Light primer with hands or brush.
  • Build coverage to full coverage with a light foundation, like Tarte Water Foundation (used yesterday too)
  • Use a full coverage concealer under eyes and on highlight points.
  • Set with matte powder, and sweep an illuminating powder all over face (here, Laura Geller Balance-and-Brighten.)
  • Apply contour under cheekbones and on forehead.
  • Sweep soft pink blush on apples of cheeks.
  • Highlight with a warm golden highlight (Laura Geller Gilded Honey)
  • Meld with Mac Fix+ spray.
  • For the lips, fill lips with a neutral lip pencil, and layer a neutral matte lipstick over it. I used BareMinerals GenNude Juju here.

For the eyes:

img_5586

  • Prep with eyelid primer.
  • I covered my lid in Bone up to the browbone, and swept Suede and Oak into my crease, lightly.
  • Using a c brush, I packed Stone onto the entire lid, and blended.
  • Using a densely packed eyeshadow brush, I applied Jet into the outer v and blended into the gray tone as well as the crease.
  • Using a dry brush, I applid Glitz to the very inner corner of my eyes.
  • Using a damp brush, I applied Watt to the middle of my eyelid and blended it towards the inner corner. I kept layering and blending until it was seamless but I still had the color payoff of both the black and the green.
  • Using Eyeko black liquid liner, I did a dramatic (for me) wing, and tightlined my eyes with a waterproof black pencil.
  • I did this look for the blog, so I didn’t bother putting lashes on, but that would really amp up the drama.
  • I smudged Watt on my lower lashline and then blended it out with Moss. I used It Cosmetics Superhero Lashes mascara on top and bottom.

Merry Christmas everybody!

Leave a Reply

