THE WEDDING OF THE CENTURY

OR AT LEAST SINCE AUGUST WHEN WE LEARNED OF THE BRIDE’S EXISTENCE.

(Kidding. I totally knew before then, because I’m in the inner circle.)

(The groom just didn’t.)

(This relationship is on a need to know basis.)

ANYWAY.

This wedding guys. It was amazing and beautiful. I’m Catholic, and I love our marriage ritual and the place it has within the liturgy. But sometimes you cant tell that the bride and groom just don’t care. This wedding was not Catholic, but it was one of the most heartening Christian weddings I have ever been to. God was at the center of everything, and I am sure He will bless their marriage because they take solace in Him.

It began, as per usual with this wedding, with a cluster…ahem. Buzz and I split up. He took the kids to his grandparents, I had to head to the bachelorette party. My car is bigger, and we had a metric crapload of stuff, so I packed it all in my car. The mother of the groom arrived to drive down with me. We bundled up, queued up some Christmas music, and turned the key in the ignition.

And nothing happened.

Of course.

I called AAA, we waited for them to come, and they told me it was something that coudln’t be fixed that day.

Of course.

So I rented a car super fast, cringing only a little when I heard the number of digits in the price, and moved ALL THE STUFF from my dead car to the new rental car.

And we finally hit the road! Just in time to hit rush hour in Chicago.

Of course.

Made it to the hotel, had a comedy of errors that I’m saving for another post, and finally got to the bachelorette party. Where I learned all sorts of things about my friends’ husbands. Wow.

Anyway, the next day we set up for the wedding and had the rehearsal. img_6934

I would like to believe that my children stole the show, but honestly, the bride and groom were so adorable I think they might have beaten us.

The next morning Squeaks got her hair done at a salon and it was easily the most impressive thing she’s ever been through.

There was glitter hairspray you guys. And the bride looked beautiful as well.

img_6999

I figured I’ve spend enough money on makeup so I sat on the floor and did my own.

img_7023

Getting ready was so much fun. I’ve only been in my sister’s wedding and I was too busy trying not to puke everywhere (Thanks, Fetus Buddy) that I don’t remember much of the part before. This was super fun.

img_7032

img_7037

img_7040

The bouquets were made from the Anne of Green Gables book where she gets married. HOW ADORABLE IS THAT. I have it in a vase in my dining room right now.

(That’s a lie. It’s in a wine bottle.)

img_7063

I didn’t take any pictures during the ceremony because it turns out Protestants stand during their whole wedding ceremony. Huh. Who knew. I certainly did not, which was why I bought the stripper shoes. Oh well.

img_7067

I can’t tell you how much this wedding meant to us. Michael, is, without a doubt, one of the most special people in the world to me. When I met Buzz, I was very, very nervous about how his late wife’s family would accept me. I didn’t need to worry. These people have acted as Christ to me for almost six years and made my life easy in a way that I never knew I would need. I love her mother as my mother, truly. People mistook her father for my father this weekend (of course.)

img_7175

And Michael? Since the day I met him, seeing a movie in May of 2011, Michael has been the nicest, sweetest, most supportive person in the world to me and Matt. He was the first to congratulate me on my engagement (because his mother can’t keep a secret.) He loved us enough that he stood up next to us at our wedding, which must have been an agonizing day for him, no matter how much he loved us. I got pregnant so fast that I was worried there would be an (understandable) difference between his blood niece Squeaks, and Buddy. There isn’t. From the moment they found out he was on his way, the entire family has loved him as their own. I honestly can’t imagine my life without them. I am so proud to call him a brother.

img_7234

And when he found his wife- oh man. She is amazing. She’s GORGEOUS. Which I always said I didn’t want in a sister in law. Turns out I don’t care when she’s also the NICEST person in the world. And she loves to read. And she loves Doctor Who. And the Gilmore Girls. And LITERALLY ALL THE THINGS I LOVE. She’s me. Except she’s the me that wants to have sex with Michael. (That’s a level of weird our family doesn’t need.) SHE’S PERFECT.

img_7308

I am so so blessed to have been able to get to know her these last few months. I am honored to get to be her sister now as she starts her life as a married woman with one of the best guys in the world.

img_7326

One thought on “THE WEDDING OF THE CENTURY

Leave a Reply

