January Ipsy Unbagging!

Practically February ipsy unbagging if you ask me. Did anyone else not get theirs until like last week? It was horrible. I mean, I pay AN ENTIRE TEN DOLLARS FOR THIS STUFF AND DAMMIT I WANT TO WHINE ABOUT IT AT THE EARLIEST POSSIBLE MOMENT.

No, I’m kidding. I don’t hate this month’s bag.

Well okay, that’s a lie. I hate this month’s actual bag. It’s all gray and blue and looks like gym shorts from the late ’90s. As someone who got “mono” halfway through first semester of freshman year and somehow had to sit out the rest of the year of gym, it’s not really my aesthetic.


See? Gym shorts.

I’m more enthusiastic about the actual products. There isn’t one I hate, and I’m super into like three of them.

First up, the SLMiss Glam Blend Beauty Brush L34. This is a good eyeshadow blending brush, but I’ve been using it in my crease mostly when I want more pigmentation there. It’s awesome. I haven’t cleaned it yet, so I’m not sure how the quality holds up, but first impressions are good.

The Temptu Base Smooth and Matte primer is also great. I love me some primers, and I never get them in the bags, so I was super excited. It smells like turpentine when you open it, which admittedly is not always what I’m going for when putting things on my face. But it worked really nicely on my sensitive skin, mattefying and helping my pores like it was supposed to. I wouldn’t say it’s the longest lasting primer ever, definitely not a smashbox quality, but certainly better than the drug store.

I received an eyeshadow this month, the StarCrushed Minerals Metallic Eyeshadow in “Aged to Perfection Champagne.” It’s a great color, and I was looking forward to using it. Unfortuantely, the fallout is huge. It gets EVERYWHERE. But once I started using a wet brush to pat in on, I really enjoyed the product. The color payoff is amazing and it’s great for a metallic look in the center of your lid or as an inner corner highlight.

Just…don’t do your face first. Cuz it’s gonna get sparkly.


Two products I haven’t tried yet- the Ciate London GELOLOGY Top Coat. (I know that’s not a real word.) and the Pur-Lisse Blue Lotus Mud Mask. I’m trying to give my nails a break because I had them in gel colors for like two solid months around the holidays, and they are ROUGH. Like, seriously. My nails make me look like I have a drug problem. But I’ll try it as soon as I start using polish again. I’m generally hesitant to praise top coats because a.) they’re boring and b.) usually they have to work with a specific chemical compound in the color polish, which unless it’s the same brand is impossible to guarantee. But we’ll see.

The mud mask I’m much more excited for. I love all masks. The peely ones. The paper ones. The mud ones. Even those see-through ones that make you look like a serial killer. LOVE LOVE LOVE. So I’m super psyched to try this one once this horrid cold is gone and the thought of touching my nose with anything other than a literal angel wing makes me want to vomit.

4/5 this month for ipsy. Can’t wait to get the next one in a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

