THIS WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE.*

*Okay maybe not change so much as save you a little money. **

**Okay and maybe not everybody, but just people who use a beauty blender sponge.***

***And really only people who are too cheap/poor to replace them as frequently as you’re supposed to.

FINE. This will be a moderate convenience to cheap women who use beauty blender sponges.

THERE. It’s not like we’re talking about the Blessed Sacrament here.

Anyway. My point. 

So I have a beauty blender from Sephora and I use it every day. It gets really gross and nasty and stained, even though I’m super pale. I imagine women with deeper skin tones have even more trouble. 

I tried washing it with soap and water, and with my Purity which I use for my brushes. Nothing. Then I tried the official Blender Cleanser, which does admittedly work amazingly. 

But it’s $30 for the 10 oz container. It’s almost cheaper to replace the $20 sponge more frequently. 

Last weekend I was bopping around YouTube and I found a bunch of videos suggesting and alternative way of cleaning and making your sponge like new again. Pssh. Whatever. My sponge is destroyed.

But it was a Sunday night, I had all the ingredients, and needed a makeup post for the blog this week, so I tried it out.

GUYS.

IT WORKS.

I KNOW.

So here’s the super secret combo of speciality ingredients for this Blender Cleanser dupe.

Dollar store antibacterial dish soap and extra virgin olive oil.

Yeah. Try to stay with me.

Put a small amount of the dish soap on a surface. (The video I copied said to use aluminum foil, but it’s not a chemical reaction at all. Next time I’ll just do it on a plate or bowl.) Put about half that amount of olive oil in the center.


Mix them together with your finger, and then rub all over your blender. Massage it it in wnd really scrub and then rinse out THOROUGHLY.

(This takes a while. Do it until the water runs clear out of the blender.)


Look!!! It’s totally clean. The dish soap cleans and kills bacteria (which you don’t want on something you’re literally rubbing all over your face.) The olive oil helps break up makeup products in the sponge and also conditions the sponge.

So there you go. You can do this as frequently as you need to and stop buying $30 soap to wash your $20 sponge.

(If you listen hard, you can already hear my husband go, “YOU SPENT HOW MUCH ON A SPONGE???” 

2 thoughts on “THIS WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE.*

Leave a Reply

