Ride or Die

Okay imma be honest. I don’t really understand the name of this challenge or tag or whatever. I ride horses and there’s very little makeup in that. And die? Geez. I love my ABH palette as much as the next girl, but it’s not like I’d die without it.

Anyway, they’re basically the one product in every category that you (in theory) couldn’t live without.

(You know, if we’re going to totally ignore the fact that there are starving children in the world and MAAAAYBE our choice of setting powder isn’t the most important thing.)

(I’m bumming myself out.)

(On with the list.)


Tool: Original Beauty Blender, from sephora.com. Absolutely the best for blending foundations and liquid products.

Primer: Smashbox Photo Finish Color Correcting Primer. Corrects my redness and fills my pores.

Foundation: L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte. At around $8 a tube, amazing deal and holds up suuuper well. Combine with the Pro-Glow foundation for a satin finish.

Concealer: tarte ShapeTape Contour Concealer. Heavy duty highlighting and contouring concealor and works better than anything else for undereye circles. Also the biggest container of concealer on the market for the price.

Setting Powder: Laura Mercier Translucent setting powder. Because I’m a follower.

Finishing Powder: Smashbox Halo finishing Powder. Expensive but lasts FOREVER.

Blush: Urban Decay Afterglow Blush, in Fetish. Great rose neutral for everyday. As soon as you get over asking the salesperson for fetish.

Contour Palette: Fiona Stiles Sheer Sculpting Palette. It’s a close one with the ABH palette but I love this one because it’s so light and blendable. I can do a real contour or just a little dimension.

Highlighter: essence PureNude in Be My Highlight. Light, natural, but can be built up. And $4.49. 

Lip Product: Bare Minerals Natural lipgloss in Sangria. They don’t make this anymore and I’m so so so sad. It’s perfect.

Eye Primer: Smashbox 24 Hour Primer. I can put my eyeshadow on at 7 am and it’s perfect at 11pm. 

Eye Palette: Kat Von D Shade and Light Eye Palette. I reach for this almost every day. Best quality matte shadows I’ve found, and the only one I’ve hit pan on in years.

Eyeliner: Smashbox Always Sharp eyeliner in Raven. DOES. NOT. MOVE.

Mascara: TooFaced Better Than Sex. Makes my lashes look false.

Lashes: Ardell Demi Wispies in black. 

Brows: Maybelline Brow Precise Micro Pencil in Auburn or soft brown. 

So there you go. My picks for the best products if you happen to be a pasty Irish chick concerned with aging who’s on a budget.

Leave a Reply

