Turning into my mom.

I am lucky enough to live a few towns away from my mom. Which is amazing, because I tend to not do too well at the whole “having a baby” thing or the “being by myself thing” or the “being a not-sad grownup” thing.

It’s nice to have her there to help.

And recently, I’ve noticed a fun trick she’s developed. She is able to throw her voice ten miles and have it come out of my mouth!

I know! Surely it’s not that it turns out that LITERALLY EVERY ONE OF MY OPINIONS IS HER OPINION.

I mean, it’s not a bad thing. I’ve always wanted to be like my mom. She’s an amazing woman. I just…didn’t realize that LITERALLY EVERYTHING I SAID WOULD HAVE ALSO BEEN SAID TO ME TEN YEARS AGO.

Here are some things I’ve said recently that made me think my mom had moved into my kitchen and started wearing a lot of leggings and tunics and developed an unhealthy interest in my husband.

Kid: “I’m done!”

Me: “No, you’re finished. You are not a turkey.”

~~~

“Oh! This is the most beautiful card you’ve ever given me!” (About a not-great card.)

~~~

“I just feel like the Extraordinary Form is timeless, you know?”

~~~

“Guys. This is not picked up. Seriously.”

~~~

“You can’t wear a two-piece swimsuit until you turn 18.”

~~~

“Because it’s not proper, that’s why,”

~~~

“Is that how a young lady is supposed to act?”

~~~

“I just feel like Amoris Laetitia leads down a bad road unless it’s clarified, you know?”

~~~

“Oh! This is the most beautiful…what is this honey? Can you tell me about it?”

~~~

“Fr. Martin got appointed to what now? *does non-celebratory shot*”

~~~

“Guys. Seriously. What part of this room do you think is picked up?”

~~~

“I got this super cool thing on QVC!”

~~~

“GUYS. THE THINGS ON THE FLOOR NEED TO BE PICKED UP.”

~~~

“Oh yay, such a beautiful piece of paper. I looooove it. Put it on my desk okay?”

~~~

“This is my favorite episode of Fixer Upper.”

~~~

“Sit down. We’re saying a family rosary.”

~~~

“You should be thankful that you’re homeschooled and get to learn so much fun stuff! When you get to college you’re going to be such a self-starter!” (As I’m forcing my kid to write sentences in cursive in Latin.)

~~~

“Purple sparkles are really fun! Just not for walls.”

~~~

“No, sorry, girls can’t get tattoos.”

~~~

“No, motorcycles are not fun at all. They are dangerous and sad.”

~~~

“Is that what Jesus would do? I didn’t think so.”

~~~

“Would you watch that with Mary sitting next to you? I didn’t think so.”

~~~

“Honey, should we watch Newhart or Night Court tonight?”

And hey- my dad can do it too!

“I know you’re tired and scared. Pray to the Blessed Mother!”

One thought on “Turning into my mom.

Leave a Reply

